Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Mothers/Maternal Figures

It’s Wednesday which means it’s time for a Top 5 Wednesday post! This is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to learn more or are considering joining, check out the Goodreads group . Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. All the links below take you to Goodreads.

This week’s topic is top 5 mothers or maternal figures. I’m kind of cheating because most of these are from really popular series but oh well.

3Molly Weasley from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

This is almost too obvious for me to even bother including, but I love Molly so it had to be done. She’s not only a super caring mom to her own kids, but to Harry as well. Plus, she will kick some serious ass when it comes to people messing with her babies. I know I wouldn’t risk it.

 

 

 

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00015]Jackie from Witch Dance by Elizabeth Burgess

Jackie is Starling’s grandma but seriously, she was awesome. She’s so supportive and encouraging. I also loved that when Starling asked if she could tell her something without her then telling Starling’s parents, Jackie promised she wouldn’t unless Starling or someone else was in danger. I love seeing adults, whether real or fictional, show trust and respect for kids/teens.

 

 

Katniss from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2767052Is this cheating? I know Katniss isn’t really a mom, but I figure with how protective and caring she is towards Prim and with how much responsibility she feels for Prim, she must qualify as a maternal figure. Anyway, I loved how close Katniss & Prim were and I felt myself connect with Katniss so much over this because I feel really protective (and sometimes downright motherly) when it comes to my younger siblings. It goes without saying that she would do anything to protect Prim so she makes the list for that reason.

 

 

13335037Natalie from Divergent by Veronica Roth

Despite knowing that she might not get to see her children again if they do, she still encourages them to choose their own path. I loved that about her. She really would do anything to keep her kids safe. I just all around loved her character.

 

 

 

Miss Peregrine from Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

51codccch1l-_sx320_bo1204203200_I feel like I maybe shouldn’t be including her since I ultimately don’t know what happens with her character as I haven’t yet read Library of Souls (and right now I’m totally blanking on what even happens in Hollow City), but I’m doing it anyway. Miss Peregrine does so much to keep all of the peculiar kids safe and I really liked her. She was caring but in a sometimes less traditional way (if that makes sense). She wouldn’t really sit there and “coddle” the kids in ways we would typically view as “motherly” but like I said, she does so much to keep them safe.

 

 

Who are some of your favorite literary mothers or maternal figures? If you did a Top 5 Wednesday post, link me to it in the comments and if you didn’t, feel free to tell me your answers below!

 

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Mothers/Maternal Figures

Join the Discussion

