Musing Mondays (4/25)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Books and a Beat where you answer one of the following prompts in addition to the weekly question:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

25626729Up next I think I’ll read Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson. Michelle contacted me a couple of weeks ago and asked me if I would review this book. It sounds pretty interesting, if not a bit cliche, but regardless I’m looking forward to it. The sequel is coming out soon too, so it’s perfect timing. 🙂 And based on the cover, the MC is black which has me excited too as I read soooo many books about white people haha So this will help me in my goal to read more diverse reads (the author is a woman of color too, so yay!). Here’s the blurb from Goodreads:

What would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.

I need to finish reading Witch Dance first though which I originally thought was only 85 pages because that’s what Amazon has listed on the ebook version but I realized that on the paperback version Amazon says it has 374 pages which makes so much more sense haha I thought I was losing my mind when after two days of reading at my normal pace I was only halfway through a book that was supposedly less than a hundred pages. That’s the downside to reading ebooks: you can’t really tell how long the book is on your own. ANYWAY, I should finish it up soon and then can read this one. 🙂

This week’s question is: Your favorite poem, or collection of poetry?

I don’t read very much poetry because a lot of it is way too metaphorical for me to understand haha But years ago I read Annabel Lee by Edgar Allen Poe and it’s been my favorite poem ever since!

If you posted a Musing Mondays post, link to it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (4/25)

Let's Chat!

