Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

Hello everyone! I hope your week is going well so far.

This is my first time participating in Top 5 Wednesday. This is currently being hosted by Sam at ThoughtsOnTomes. I joined the Goodreads group a couple of weeks ago but haven’t actually participated until now. Each week has a different topic and you just post 5 books that fit that topic. So on to 5 books that intimidate me! All links take you to the Goodreads page.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

10210

Okay, I have wanted to read this one for awhile. I know a lot of people read this in high school and I remember several of my friends reading it and loving it. BUT basically any book that’s deemed a classic intimidates me. I don’t really know why. I think a lot of it is because in high school, most classics were written in the 1800s or early 1900s and I hard a hard time understanding the language and I’m afraid that I’ll just be confused the whole time. I’m really hoping I can get over it and read this soon though.

King Leopold’s Ghost by Adam Hochschild

347610

As someone who is really interested in history and is trying to learn more about the history of imperialism/colonialism, this sounds super interesting. My older brother read it and recommended it to me because he really enjoyed it. He actually bought it for me as a Christmas gift too. I’m not really sure what about this intimidates me. Maybe because after flipping through a few pages it looks really dense? I don’t know, but I need to get over it because I know nothing about this topic but really want to learn about it.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

5907

Okay, I honestly have no idea why this intimidates me so much but it does. All of Tolkien’s books are intimidating to me. I’ve had many people tell me that The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings are must-reads and that they loved these books and yet I’m soooo intimidated by them. The only thing I can think of is maybe it’s because they’re from the early-ish 1900s but they’re still from around 1930 (I think) which isn’t so far back that it should be hard to understand. So I don’t know. But I really want to read Tolkien’s books because I feel left out not having seen the movies but I’m so stubborn and refuse to watch movies if I haven’t read the book(s).

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

17470674

Another book that I’m really only intimidated by because it’s a considered a classic. I really want to read this one though because it’s dystopian which you all probably know by now is my favorite.

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

38447I honestly have no clue why this intimidates me. None whatsoever. It was written in the 1980s so there’s no reason to fear it will be hard to understand. Many people who I trust to recommend good books have read this and loved it. I even started reading this and was really enjoying it (I had borrowed it from the library and had to bring it back before I finished it). Then I bought it so I could read it and have been too intimidated by it to pick it back up.

Looks like a common theme here is “I don’t really know why this intimidates me but it does.” Anyway, these are 5 books that I’ve been intimidated by. If you did a Top 5 Wednesday post, link me to it below and if you didn’t make a post, feel free to list some intimidating books in the comments!

16 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I’m Intimidated By

  1. Fahrenheit 451 is very good, I was not disappointed, although my favorite stays 1984. I am not fond of classics but Jane Eyre is worth reading, I really liked it. The Handmaid’s Tale was on my April TBR as I’d borrowed it from the library, but then I bought lots of books and had to return it before I had a chance to read it, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read all but the 2nd of these and I’d recommend them all except The Hobbit which I found dull! 🙂
    I re-read Fahrenheit 451 quite recently and was surprised by how action-packed the second half was… I’d forgotten it becomes like a thriller!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So many people have told me how much they love the movies which is honestly probably the main reason I want to read them. I’m so stubborn I refuse to watch movies if I haven’t read the books first so I need to hurry up and read them so I can finally watch them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Lord of the Rings movies, but I really don’t know if I could ever read the books or The Hobbit books. You should definitely check the movies out 😀 I definitely feel the imitation with classics too because I never had to read them for school so I’m completely brand new to them and the prose is so different to what I’m used to. Fahrenheit is on my TBR though and I’m hoping to get to it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

