ARC Review: Fear My Mortality by Everly Frost

25349721Rating: 5/5

Release Date: April 5, 2016 (Out now!)

Length: 342 pages

Source: eARC from the publisher, Month9Books

Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

The future is bright for 16-year-old Ava Holland and the residents of Evereach. They don’t have to worry about old age or even getting sick. In their world, humans regenerate, heal, and live for hundreds of years. Mortality isn’t something to fear. Disease has been all but eradicated. Everything changes when Ava watches her brother die and he doesn’t regenerate. Ava’s genetics are called into question by the government, scientists, extremists, and Ava herself. Could her genes hold the answer to mortality? Is she an anomaly or something to be feared? Determined not to become anyone’s guinea pig, Ava doesn’t stick around to find out. She wants answers too, but the only person who can help her is 17-year-old Michael Bradley, the boy who killed her brother. If either of them have even the slightest chance of survival, they must find the genetic keys hidden in Ava’s DNA before it’s too late.

Guys. This book was SO. GOOD.

Okay, so Fear My Mortality takes place in this futuristic world where humans have evolved the ability to “regenerate” when they’re injured and heal themselves. They can die and come back to life after a few seconds until they reach a few hundred years old and then they have their “final death.” Ava, however, soon finds out that she is mortal and that she can’t heal herself.

This was a really unique concept. I’ve read my fair share of sci-fi, but I hadn’t come across anything like this. Usually if immortality is involved in a story, it’s usually fantasy and the immortal beings aren’t human, but are wizards or something. I thought the idea behind it was really interesting and I appreciated it wasn’t like anything I had read before.

I was also fascinated by the world. Not only do people live to be hundreds of years and not only do they heal after dying, but they’re totally unaffected by the thought of themselves or someone else dying. In the very beginning of the story, a toddler is hit by a car and goes through “first death” and his mother doesn’t care at all, but is just more annoyed that she’s going to be late for work. I also liked that there was an aspect of inequality woven into the world: slow healers are really looked down upon and there’s even a terrorist group, the Bashers, who go after them to “weed out the weak.” Imagine how people feel when they found out Ava can’t heal.

Right from the beginning I really felt bad for Ava. So much happens to her just in the first few chapters and I wanted to just give her a hug. Ava seems pretty lost at the beginning too because she definitely views herself as different, even though she doesn’t yet know that she’s mortal. She knows that it’s weird for her to be afraid to die or to be concerned when she other people (like the toddler who got hit by a car) die and so she kind of tries to blend in and keep those thoughts to herself. However, as the story goes on, even though she’s facing a ton of danger and is fighting for her life, she really grows as a person. Where before she kind of “followed the pack,” now she is very much a leader and isn’t afraid to do what she thinks is right.

I found most of the characters to be very compelling and constantly found myself wondering who could be trusted and what their motives were. There are a few people who right after being introduced to them you know they’re the “bad guys” and these characters just had me wondering “why are they doing this? WHAT are they doing?” Then there were characters who were introduced as “good” characters but that you either later find out are terrible or you just aren’t sure whether or not they can be trusted. This added a lot of suspense and betrayal to the story.

Related, there were quite a few little plot twists and I constantly found myself wondering what was going to happen next. This book was incredibly difficult to put down. Every night as I was reading it I was doing the whole “I’ll just read one more chapter” and then the chapter would end and I’d go “well, I can’t stop at that! One more chapter” and the cycle continued. I didn’t want the book to ever end.

If you like sci-fi at all, even if it isn’t your favorite genre, you should absolutely check this out. It’s so captivating and will have you hooked from page one. Everly Frost knows how to write. I don’t have a single thing that I can think about that I didn’t like. I can’t wait for the next book in the series (seriously, can I have it now?).

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Fear My Mortality by Everly Frost

  1. Wow great review Kourtni! This is the first time I heard about this book and it looks and sounds absolutely fantastic. I totally love sci-fi books as well I most definitely want to check out this book soon! Thank you for your awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

