Discussion: Thoughts on Goodreads

Hi everyone! I decided that I wanted to try out a discussion post. I’ve never done one of these before, but I always love chiming in on them on other blogs, so why not do one here? πŸ™‚

This is mostly just going to be me dumping my thoughts on Goodreads into a post, to be completely honest.

I’m sure most of you probably use Goodreads. I made an account a few years ago and I never really used it that much, but when I started book blogging, I started using it more. (Side note: if anyone wants to add me as a friend, please do! I barely have anyone on there.)

I mostly use Goodreads to quickly add things to my TBR and to sort of “log” my reading. Before I used Goodreads, I kept my TBR in a notebook. I still do, actually. I started that notebook when I was around 14 and have a bit of an emotional attachment to it haha But when I’m on the computer and see bloggers or other people in the reading community rave about a book or I just come across a book that looks interesting, it’s easier to add it to Goodreads and then update my notebook later. I also like keeping track of my reading progress. It helps me see which books I read really quickly and which books take me forever to get through which doesn’t really serve much of a purpose other than satiating my curiosity lol

I think I would enjoy Goodreads more if there was more interaction. I know a lot of this is due to me not having many friends on there. I tried joining a group, but I couldn’t stick with it. It seemed difficult to get to know people and to interact with them, even within a group. I wonder if that was because it had tons of members and if I would have better luck with a smaller group.

I know a lot of users have quite a few different shelves and make lists and everything. Up until VERY recently, I only used the same shelves that you get automatically: to read, read, and currently reading. Then I added a favorites shelf (although I haven’t added many books to that), an ARC review shelf, and a shelf for books where the author contacted me to review them. I really love seeing the different shelves that people come up with. There are some really creative ones I’ve seen! I want to start adding more shelves to better categorize books, but I’m afraid it’ll end up getting hectic and hard to keep up with.

Anyway, I’ll finish up by saying: I really like using Goodreads, but I think it would be more enjoyable if I had more friends on it and interacted more with other readers rather than just adding books to shelves and updating my progress.

What are your thoughts on Goodreads? Do you use it? Do you LIKE using it? What are some of your favorite (and/or least favorite) features?

17 thoughts on “Discussion: Thoughts on Goodreads

  1. I pretty much use Goodreads for the same reasons you do. I’d never be able to keep track of books I want to read without it because my memory is dreadful. And by the time I get round to reading some of the books on my list I’ve forgotten I added them!
    I just sent you a Goodreads friend request πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Goodreads!! It’s my go-to for anything book-related, and I’ve found really great support on there. I think it’ll get better for you when you have more friends (even I don’t have a lot of friends), because interaction grows from that, and it’s a really great place to discuss and recommend books.

    I added you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just sent you a request πŸ™‚ I love Goodreads, I use it for everything book-related! (Although my tbr would be much more manageable without it!!). I joined a group which do different challenges and I’ve enjoyed being a part of that. I’ve definitely found more people to talk to by being a part of it. I love seeing what my friends are reading and what they think of the books. It’s great πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just sent you a request πŸ™‚
    I still mainly use Amazon’s wishlists to keep track of what I wanna read, but I am slowly starting to make my goodreads shelves match the wishlists because you can find useful info there and I prefer reading reviews from goodreads rather than Amazon. But I agree with you, the lack of interactions make it hard to fully appreciate the site. Now that I have joined a group and found a few friends, it is much nicer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like using Goodreads to see what everyone’s reading and get their thoughts on ARCs to see if I’d like to read it when it releases. It’s a pretty cool way to track what I read πŸ™‚ I DO wish there was a better way to communicate with other readers on Goodreads, though

    Like

  6. I sent you a request πŸ™‚

    I have a slight Goodread’s obsession, haha. I have an insane amount of TBRs there are because I’ve found so many books and it helps me become aware of new realeses. I also love keeping progress of my reading. I love that you have a Notebook, that’s so awesome! I feel you about the interaction though. I don’t really interact with anyone on there because I don’t feel like it’s as easy as other social media platforms.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I use Goodreads for organizing purposes mostly. I have way too many shelves, but one thing I do is keep seasonal TBRs. For exquisite have a 2016 TBR and a 2016 Must Read. I’m also about to start my summer 2016 shelf. I try to stick to those, but always add a lot–too many. I post reviews there too but I don’t interact much. It’s more for me than social interaction.

    Oh and I added you!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the Discussion

