Weekly Recommendation #7

22628

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I know tons of you have probably already read this one, but it’s one of my favorites so I couldn’t resist recommending it!

This is a book about Charlie who is a freshman and high school. He’s really shy and kind of awkward – hence the term “wallflower.” But he becomes friends with these two seniors and they introduce him into this world he’s never been a part of and they try to get him to involve himself in things, rather than sit on the sidelines.

The book is set up in a (somewhat) unique way – rather than it being narrated the way most books are, Charlie is writing letters to someone. And the whole story is told through those letters.

I will say though there are definitely some heavy topics discussed in this (suicide and molestation are two that I can think of at the moment) so, as always, be careful if you might be triggered!

It’s been awhile since I read this so I don’t remember a lot of the specific things that made me love it. But I can definitely say that this is one of those stories that no matter how much time passes, I still remember it being a fantastic book.

Buy it on Amazon.

Join the Discussion

