Upcoming Releases #2

Hi everyone!

In mid-February I had made a post talking about some upcoming releases that I was looking forward to and mentioned that I was going to make that a series of semi-regular posts. But now, a month later, I haven’t done another one! I think what I’m going to do is make this a monthly feature, partially because I don’t really keep up to date on what books are being released soon so it will be easier for me to do this only once a month. Plus lots of blogs do the “Waiting on Wednesday” weekly meme, so you can get your fix of interesting upcoming releases from them in the meantime. 😉

Anyway, here are three books being released in the next several weeks that I have my eye on!

The Last Execution by Jesper Wung-Sung

41rerqwgu8l-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Release date: March 22, 2016

Amazon

I’ll be honest, if I saw this book without knowing anything about it, I probably wouldn’t pick it up because I really don’t like this cover at all (and I’m totally guilty of judging books by their covers). BUT this book seems really interesting.

It’s based on the true story of Denmark’s last ever execution, in which a 15-year-old boy was executed for “dubious charges of arson and murder.” The story is told from 11 different POVs (which seems excessive, honestly, and I’m not really sure how I feel about it) – one different bystander for each hour counting down to the execution.

This seems interesting to me for a couple of reasons. First, I love historical fiction and I especially love when it’s based on a true story. It’s fun to me to try and guess how much of the story actually happened and how much is fiction. Secondly, this definitely sounds like a thought-provoking book which is always something I enjoy. I might wait until I see a few reviews of this before I check it out though, mainly because I’m a little worried that 11 POVs will be confusing or cause the story to seem choppy/disconnected. But it still seems interesting to me and I’m going to be keeping an eye out for it.

 The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

51qfwi-xszl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Release date: April 12, 2016

Amazon

This book sounds sooo good and seems unique compared to other things that I’ve read, so I think I’m going to need to move this near the top of my TBR. First of all, I really like this cover. Secondly, it’s set in medieval Europe (France, to be exact) and I can’t remember ever reading something set in that time period. It’s possible that I did and am just not remembering, but regardless, it’s a setting that has me interested.

It’s about Dolssa, who has been labeled a heretic by the Church and is on the run to avoid being executed like her mother. She comes across Botille who lives in a village called Bajas and helps Dolssa hide from the Church. But the Church eventually comes to Bajas and Dolssa being in hiding there threatens everyone else in the village.

Honestly, everything about this intrigues me. I’m really hoping I’ll get a chance to read it soon(-ish, at least). If any of you guys had an ARC of this and have already read it, definitely let me know what you thought!!

The Epidemic by Suzanne Young

51j8wo6qzel-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Release date: April 19, 2016

Amazon

This is the sequel to the prequel of The Program (that was really confusing, sorry). I read The Program last summer and loved it so much, I read the rest of the (published) books within a couple of days. It’s definitely one of my favorite series, so it pretty much goes without saying that I’m really excited for this one! If you haven’t read The Program yet but you like dystopian/suspense types of books, you should definitely check it out!! Just be warned that the whole series revolves around a teen suicide epidemic, so be careful if depression and/or suicide are triggering topics for you.

What are some books being released in the next few weeks that you all are looking forward to?

Let's Chat!

