Weekly Recommendation #4

412yc0n55xl-_sx333_bo1204203200_

The Nine Lives of Chloe King by Liz Braswell

I read this about a year ago after I picked it up at Barnes and Noble and I really, really loved it. It’s about Chloe King (obviously) who starts to experience a bunch of odd things with her body – she has super fast reflexes, has claws, etc. And she dies after falling off a tower… but then wakes up. She finds out that she’s part of an ancient race. Basically, she’s part human, part cat. She faces a lot of challenges and has to think for herself in order to protect herself and the people she cares about. I know it probably sounds super weird, but it really is very interesting.

I’m recommending this because I really loved the characters and the plot. There are many characters that are really well-written and keep you (and Chloe) guessing about whether or not they can be trusted. The plot, while following some cliches at times (for example, the whole idea of a “Chosen One”), really kept me interested and engaged with the story the whole time. However, if you’re someone who is easily bored with cliches, this may not be the book for you.

The edition whose cover is shown above (and that I linked to at the end of the post) has all three books in the trilogy (The Fallen, The Stolen, and The Chosen) which means no waiting in anticipation to get the next book! That’s always a big plus for me!

This was also made into a TV show, but it looks like it got cancelled after the first season. Regardless, I really enjoyed the books and I hope you will too!

Buy it on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

