Review of Never Mind My Thigh Gap by Sarah Newton and Bronte Huskinson

515-aotkljl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Rating: 4/5

Release date: Out now!

Buy it on Amazon.

“One ordinary girl, one extraordinary moment”

There are three things everyone notices about Alice.

1. Her super-hot rugby boyfriend.

2. Her sophisticated, totally gorgeous best friend.

3. Her very noticeable 38-inch long legs.

Alice is tall — just under six feet to be exact — but her self-esteem couldn’t be smaller. When her relationship starts wavering, Alice’s perfectly beautiful best friend somehow convinces her to join a modelling competition, “for a confidence boost.” But Alice is just a normal girl; she loves ice cream too much, has an unhealthy addiction to American TV and lusts after the elusive thigh gap. She can’t even walk in heels, let alone in a bikini, but she finds herself joining Runway Models anyway.

The finale is only a few months away.

Will Alice catwalk her way to self-confidence or fail, proving everyone right?

People can surprise you.

I’ll be honest: going into this, I wasn’t totally sure that I would enjoy it. It’s not at all the type of thing I usually read and I was a bit worried that it would touch upon body image in a kind of “iffy” way. But I was very wrong!

Alice starts off the book dating Julian, a very popular and attractive guy at her school, and is best friends with Isabelle, who is very popular and attractive too. Julian is being terrible to her (I hated his character from his first line, no lie) and they get into a fight and Isabelle convinces her to sign up for a modelling competition to get back at him after he basically tells her she would fail and just look like an idiot.

Alice isn’t a very confident person at all – she’s very concerned with how she looks and feels like she needs to get a “thigh gap.” But through this modelling competition, she gains a lot of confidence and becomes more secure with who she is.

I felt like Alice was a really good portrayal of a teenager. I found her to be really relatable, not in that I relate so much to her now as an almost-21-year-old, but that she really reminded me of how I felt when I was around her age. I also thought there was a good balance between her thinking her mom is annoying and loving her – too many books that I’ve read try to get that level of “teenage angst” right but end up completely ignoring the fact that teenagers may be moody, but they do still love their parents (most of the time, anyway)! There was one line that really made me cringe though. At one point, Alice’s mom says she doesn’t want to cook dinner and asks if Alice would be okay with ordering food and Alice says something about how her mom is good for nothing and “how can she call herself a mother” which I just thought was a really gross thing to say. But other than that, their relationship was something that I enjoyed seeing.

About half way through the book, there’s a pretty big plot twist that I won’t give away, but that really had me kind of freaking out. I definitely did not see it coming at all.

Alice also is friends with a girl named Maddie who I LOVED. Maddie was hilarious and super sassy/sarcastic. I really, really liked her character. She was a great friend to Alice too and I always love seeing good friendships, especially between girls!

I also have to say that there are so many great couples in this book (definitely excluding Julian and Alice). And at the end, there’s a “where are they now?” section that tells you how everything played out for them which I really liked.

I enjoyed this book, despite it being different from what I normally read, and although there were a few moments here and there that I really didn’t like, overall I thought it was a well-written and entertaining read.

I got a copy of this book through the author’s assistant in exchange for a review.

2 thoughts on “Review of Never Mind My Thigh Gap by Sarah Newton and Bronte Huskinson

  1. Pingback: Really Relatable - Never Mind My Thigh Gap

Let's Chat!

