Weekly Recommendation #3

It’s Sunday evening which means it’s time for my weekly recommendation! This week I’m recommending…

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys!

51fa0mhsovl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Buy it on Amazon.

I bought and read this about a year ago after hearing a lot of wonderful praise for it. I was not at all disappointed.

This story is about Lina, a Lithuanian teenager whose family is taken by Soviet officers. Her, her mom, and her brother are separated from her father and sent to a Soviet work camp which, of course, presents a lot of challenges and they have to fight to survive. Throughout everything, she’s really desperate to reconnect with her dad and she passes on drawings with hints about where she is hoping that they’ll reach her dad.

I’ve always found historical fiction really interesting and I’ve always liked books about WWII the best. However, until I read this, I had never read about any of the atrocities committed by the Soviets – everything I had read had been about the horrors the Germans brought to so many. So I was really interested to learn about this side of the war that I really had never heard about.

This book brings you on such an emotional journey. It had me hooked from beginning to end. I really can’t praise this book enough! You should definitely check this out if you like YA historical fiction.

Ruta Sepetys recently published another book, Salt to the Sea, which I’m dying to read and I’ve heard is every bit as captivating as Between Shades of Gray.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention: Between Shades of Gray is getting a movie adaptation called Ashes in the Snow which is set to release at some point this year.

Leave a Reply

