Review of Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

51minutwdcl-_sx322_bo1204203200_ Rating: 4/5 stars

Release date: Paperback out now, eBook released on February 15th

Buy it on Amazon.

Slaughtered and left for crows, soldiers of the King’s Army lay dead in a field. A grim reminder: the king’s law ends at the gates of the capital.

Elinor fought for what she believed and now she is an outcast. No soldier will follow her.

No officer will stand with her. Yet when she finds her brothers and sisters slaughtered, she cannot turn her back on them.

Long ago, they swore an oath. Not to the king, but to each other.

And woe to those who break that bond.

Those of you that have been following me or visiting the blog for at least a little while may know that I recently posted a review of the first novella in this series, A Reaper of Stone. This is the sequel and is every bit as entertaining.

Elinor continues to be an amazing character whom I really love. I think I said this in my review of the first novella, but I find Elinor to be so brave and I absolutely love that she will stand up for what she thinks is right, even if it puts her own life at risk.

The plot is interesting, although at first I found it confusing. When I began reading this, I didn’t really know what was going on. It kind of seemed like the reader was thrown into the middle of a story rather than the beginning. After the first chapter or two I mostly had it figured out, but regardless, I could have done without the initial confusion.

As I’ve enjoyed Gelineau and King’s other novellas, I enjoyed this one too. This one had far less fantasy elements in it though and I did find myself missing that. I look forward to finding out what happens next to Elinor and Con (and Aldis, despite the fact that I truly can not stand him).

I received an eARC through NetGalley.

2 thoughts on “Review of Broken Banners by Mark Gelineau and Joe King

Leave a Reply

