Upcoming Releases #1

Hi everyone! I’m going to start doing a post, probably every two weeks or so, talking about a few books that are coming out soon that I think seem interesting. I won’t go into too much detail about them, simply because I typically won’t know that much. The books that I’ll feature on here will just be books that I’ve stumbled across online that pique my interest. Of course, some will probably be books that are highly anticipated with lots of buzz or may be installments in a series that I’ve started reading, which may give me more to talk about. If I happen to know any blogs that have done reviews of the ones I’m featuring in these posts, I’ll link to the review too.

Feel free to chime in in the comments with any other upcoming books that you’re looking forward to!

  1. Bluescreen by Dan Wells (Amazon page)

5111ptfjfgl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

Release date: February 16th (US)

This is a YA sci-fi/dystopian about a futuristic world where there are electronic devices implanted into your head that give you access to the internet. The main character, Marisa, and her friends discover a virtual drug called Bluescreen and they find themselves in the middle of a big conspiracy.

This seems really interesting to me, largely because I’m a huge sucker for sci-fi and dystopian. The description reminds me a little bit of Elusion by Claudia Gabel and Cheryl Klam – which, by the way, is a really great YA sci-fi that I highly recommend. Dan Wells has a number of other books that may be worth checking out if you find this intriguing. I haven’t really heard anything about this book at all, besides finding a description of it, but I’ll be keeping an eye out for this when it hits shelves.

2.  The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (Amazon page)

510kzqg3yrl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Release date: February 16th (US)

I follow Heidi Heilig on Twitter so I’ve seen quite a bit about this book. Basically, it follows Nix, a 16-year-old girl, whose father has a time-traveling ship. They travel together but he wants to go back to Hawaii in 1868 when Nix’s mom, who died during childbirth, is alive (so Nix wouldn’t be alive if her mom is). If Nix’s father gets back there, she may no longer exist.

I read a review of this over on Across the Words which really sparked my interest in this. Sajda recommends this to fans of Alexandra Bracken’s Passenger and I’m sure plenty of you guys read and liked that as I know that’s been a very popular book. I definitely want to check this one out. I mean, it’s a book about time-traveling pirates, so how bad can it be?

3. The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine (Amazon page)

51ilk-vq53l-_sx334_bo1204203200_

Release date: February 16th (US)

This is another one that I’ve heard a bit about. When I first saw this cover, I fell in love. It’s really simple, but I think it’s a really cool design. The Shadow Queen is a retelling of Snow White and I’ve seen it recommended to fans of Cinder and A Court of Thorns and Roses (two very popular books!).

Lorelai is on a mission to kill the queen, who just so happens to have a prince from a neighboring kingdom on a mission to kill Lorelai. I definitely foresee some tension-filled romance happening on that front.

This is one that I’m really looking forward to. I like fairy-tale retellings and do NOT read enough of them. But with this cover, I don’t think I’ll be able to resist.

Have you guys heard about any of these? Which one seems the most interesting to you?

Let's Chat!

