23

Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

Top Ten Tuesday blog header 6-20-17

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly themed post hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week features a different theme/prompt for which you come up with a list of 10 books/ideas. This week’s prompt is top ten series I’ve been meaning to start but haven’t. I’m sure many of you know that I can easily come up with a much longer list for this. I’m the queen of buying books or adding them to my TBR and then taking forever to get to them. So there are a lot of series that have piled up over the years that I still haven’t gotten around to. Today I’m sticking to talking about books that have at least 2 books out already and that I’ve added to my TBR somewhat recently since I’ve done some posts like this in the past and want to try and avoid repeating series that were included in those. Let’s get to my list, shall we?

All the links will take you to the Goodreads page for the first book in the series!

Continue reading

45

Should You Write Negative Reviews?

should you write negative reviews blog header

Negative reviews can be a bit of a sensitive topic among bloggers. There are some who never write or share them, some who only post them to Goodreads, and some who post them on their blog frequently. Personally, I don’t write them often simply because I usually enjoy the books I read, but I still share them on my blog and Goodreads. Today I wanted to talk a little bit about when I think it’s okay or even good to write a negative review and when you should maybe skip it. Obviously, this is my personal opinion and people are free to write or not write negative reviews as they wish. So if you disagree with anything I say, don’t get too upset about it. 😉

Continue reading

14

Around the Blogosphere

around the blogosphere blog header

Hi, everyone! It’s time for another around the blogosphere post where I share some of my favorite posts that I’ve recently read from other blogs. Basically, I just want to highlight some posts that I’ve read recently and encourage you to check them out and maybe give the blogger a follow! 🙂 In the past, I’ve only listed a few posts, but this time around I decided to do a short paragraph for each post explaining why I liked it and recommend you check it out. I figured it’d be a little more interesting that way. 😉

Continue reading

10

ARC Review: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn

Book Review blog header

Published: June 27th, 2017 by Kensington | Series: N/A | Length: 256 pages | Genre: YA contemporary thriller | Source: I received an eARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. | Possible Triggers: sexual harassment, racism, violence, bullying, child abuse, suicide, murder

Amazon | Book Depository | B&N | Goodreads

Summary from Goodreads:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Continue reading

7

Unique Blogger Award

Unique Blogger Award blog header

Hi, everyone! It’s been awhile since I’ve done a tag/award, but I still had this one waiting for me to do so I decided to finally do it! Pierina at Pierina Reads tagged me to do this almost 2 months ago. Thanks a bunch for the tag and sorry it’s taken me so long to get to it!

The Rules:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them three questions.

Continue reading